Amandine

The non-profit organisation VZW “Maritieme Site Oostende” was established by a few enthusiasts with a heart for old fishing boats and by a number of people who were concerned about creating training and employment opportunities for job-seekers.

In March 1998 the renovation of the last Iceland trawler, the “Amandine – 0.129” was started at the old shipyard “Seghers”, situated at the Slipwaykaai in Oostende. After the renovation, the fishing boat was put in a dry dock along the – also – renovated Visserskaai in Oostende and now serves as an interactive museum.

The construction of the “Amandine” was started on 16/11/60 at the shipyard Richard Panesi in Oostende, by order of the shipowners Engel Verhaeghe and Pierre Vincent. The trial trip was made on March 17th, 1962.

The Amandine is 36 m long (32.5 m between the sounding lines), 6.7 m wide, has a draught of 3.9 m, a hold with a capacity of 65 tons and, a 510 hp industrial engine. It can accommodate 10 crew members and cost 219.660 euro. The boat always sailed with only 8 crew members.

The catches mainly consisted of cod, haddock, blue ling, pollack, sapphirine gurnard, sea bream, large plaice and Scottish dab.

The 0.129 had several very experienced masters, who prevented the boat from suffering major disasters.

On 03/04/95, the “Amandine” made the harbour of Oostende for the very last time. That day, its fishing career ended, and so did the history of fishing voyages to Iceland departing from Oostende.

The dry dock situated along the Visserskaai, across the Ostend railway station, is certainly worth a visit. You will be fascinated by ” d’Ostensjhe Ieslandvisjherie “.

ONZE PARTNERS

  • jetair
  • marina
  • vloot
  • oostende
  • dekist
  • vlaanderen
  • OVA_logo
  • hitfm_logo

Amandine

L’asbl « VZW Site Maritime Ostende » a été fondée par quelques enthousiastes épris de nostalgie pour les vieux bateaux de pêche et par un certain nombre de personnes qui se souciaient des possibilités de formation et de travail pour les demandeurs d’emploi.

En mars 1998, l’ancien chantier naval « Seghers » au quai Slipwaykaai à Ostende à entamé la rénovation du dernier islandais, l’Amandine – 0.129. Après sa rénovation, ce bateau à été installé au Visserskaai (quai des pêcheurs) restauré d’Ostende où il sert de musée interactif dans un dock asséché.

Les travaux de construction de L’Amandine ont débuté le 16/11/60 sur le chantier Richard Panesi à Ostende à la demande des armateurs Engel Verhaeghe et Pierre Vincent. La première sortie en mer a eu lieu le 17 mars 1962.

L’Amandine mesure 36 m de long (32,5 m de longueur de flottaison), 6,7 m de largeur, a un creux de 3,9 m, une capacité de stockage du poisson de 65 tonnes, un moteur de 510 CV, peut embarquer 10 membres d’équipage et a coûté à l’époque 219.660 euro. Elle n’a néanmoins jamais navigué avec plus de 8 membres d’équipage.

Les prises étaient essentiellement constituées de cabillaud, d’aiglefin, de lieu noir, de colin, de grondin-perlon, de dorade, de grandes plies et de limandes.

Le 0.129 a été entre les mains de véritables loups de mer qui ont permis au bateau de rester à l’abri de grandes catastrophes.

Le 03/04/95, L’Amandine rentre pour la dernière fois dans le port d’Ostende. Sa carrière de bateau de pêche s’achève. C’est ainsi que le rideau final est tombé sur la Oostendse Ijslandvisserij (la pêche ostendaise dans les eaux islandaises).

Le dock qui se trouve au Visserskaai en face de la gare d’Ostende vaut sans aucun doute le détour. Vous pouvez vous laisser éblouir par l’ « Ostensjhe ieslandvisjherie ».

ONZE PARTNERS

  • dekist
  • vlaanderen